Advisory Council


The Advisory Council, which meets in public, is comprised of members appointed by the school's Executive Board. The Advisory Council, also known as the School Governing Board Committee, provides policy reviews, advice, recommendations, and other input to the Executive Board as prescribed by Arizona statutes. Transparency and well-rounded, data-driven decision-making are enhanced through an effective partnership between the Advisory Council and the Executive Board.

The Advisory Council typically meets at least twice quarterly, generally on the last Wednesday of an announced month in campus Rm#11 at 5:30 pm. Parents and the public are always welcome at Advisory Council meetings, which are subject to Arizona Public Meeting statutes. Agendas, Minutes, and supporting documents from Advisory Council meetings are maintained on the school website and in the school office.

Meeting agendas are posted online and on the school's Office Bulletin Board a minimum of 24 hours in advance of all public meetings.

CONSIDER BECOMING A MEMBER of our Advisory Council by submitting your self-nomination with resume and reasons for seeking membership, to Juli Newman by phone at 480-945-1121 or via email at

Current MA Advisory Council members include:

  • Maegan Alford, Member
  • Jennifer Dunn, Co-chairperson
  • Nick Toronto, Vice-Chairperson
  • Dr. Jeffrey Trent, Member
  • George Wood, PhD, Member
  • Wanda Wright, Executive Board Liaison (non-voting)
  • Kara Tustin, Co-chairperson
  • Debra Berkey, Member
  • Maieta Clark, Secretary
  • open seat, Member

    Corporate Executive Board

    The Corporate Executive Board is comprised of officers and appointed directors of Montessori Academy Inc, including the charter representatives.

    The Corporate Executive Board meets in private sessions as required to develop and direct the school's strategic and tactical business operations including all administrative and educational functions. The Arizona Public Meetings governance statutes do not apply to the Corporate Executive Board.

    Corporate Executive Board members include:

  • Juli Newman, President (Email Juli)
  • Wanda Wright, Vice President/Treasurer
  • Krista Cross, Secretary (Email Krista)
  • Dale Newcomb, Board Member
  • Open membership seat